September After-Action Review

Posted: October 2, 2014 in Self-publishing
Tags: , , , ,

A WORLD GONE GRAY COMPLETED DESIGN200x300pxLIKE LIFE ITSELF COMPLETED DESIGN200x300pxSIGNAL FIRE COMPLETED DESIGN_thumbnailTransienceOriginal

September turned out to be much more productive than August. Honestly though, I could’ve spent the past thirty days in the fetal position in a corner of my choosing and still raised August’s bar. However, it turns out that more effort equals more success in (some aspects) of the ebook slangin’ game. Who’da thunk it? Success, in this case, is a very (very) relative term. But I did manage to double my month-to-month sales.

Before you name your first-born after me, I have to admit we’re dealing with small numbers here. As in one and two. One and two are perfectly fine when you’re learning to two-step, but they ain’t so great when you’re trying to sell your fiction of questionable merit to readers with undeniable standards. To the two of you (or globetrotting one of you) who gambled on the final 90% of my books not sucking, sincere thanks. Also, I sincerely hope you’re not disappointed.

Non-sales-wise, I managed to make inroads on the Twitter front. My laziness the last couple of months left me stalled-out at around 1,250 followers, but I made a point of spending a few hours after work (and on weekends) every day on that Mom and Pop start-up site throughout (most of) September. Long-term results are yet to be determined, but I’m now safely over 1,500 followers. Most of that probably has to do with my lazy Luddite self discovering Twitter’s 2,000 “following” threshold, then going back into the dark ages and unfollowing the unfollowers I followed when I first signed up. That, and me discovering the retweet button.

If you followed any of that, you’re better at Twitter than I am. I’d totally follow you. Basically, I’m replacing all (okay, most) of those celebrities* (and bots, and popular random Internet folks, etc.) who are never going to follow me with readers who may be interested in my work and writers who are in the same leeward-leaning boat as me, the one taking on a bit of water and heading straight for that thundercloud.

Twitter (and the social media universe in general) is a weird and occasionally wonderful place. To me, anyway. If anyone ever figures it out, please email me at my AOL address. It’s been very much a learning process thus far.

 

* — Except for Nancy Sinatra and Margaret Cho. They follow me and have therefore achieved awesomeness status.

 

 

Leave a Reply

