August After-Action Review

Posted: September 1, 2014 in Self-publishing
Tags: , , , ,

A WORLD GONE GRAY COMPLETED DESIGN200x300pxSIGNAL FIRE COMPLETED DESIGN_thumbnailLIKE LIFE ITSELF COMPLETED DESIGN200x300pxTransienceOriginal

Well, here’s the good news…

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, we can begin this month’s installment of Stuff That Happened Last Month. Please be seated. Thank you.

Okay, things aren’t quite that bleak. I did manage to sell a copy of The Transience of Youth to one intrepid reader at Smashwords and narrowly avoid a shutout for the month. I haven’t heard back from the Elias Sports Bureau yet, but I’m pretty sure that ranks me ahead of the San Diego Padres in the National League West. Also, I recorded a belated sale at Apple in July — A World Gone Gray for those of you scoring at home. Strangely, the sale was made in Australian dollars again. So 80% of my Apple sales thus far have been Oz-based*. I have a theory or two as to why, and they’ll be revealed in my next post. Whenever that is.

Speaking of my laziness, I’m sure it had as much to do with my languid sales as the calendar did. Just like last month, I lagged on social media. I still haven’t figured out the correlation between social media activity and sales of self-published ebooks, but I have to assume more (when done properly [whatever that is]) means better. Unfortunately, I’ve been an absentee tweeter the past pair of months. I’ve also had the worst two months of my storied nine-month career of uploading files to Amazon and Smashwords. Coincidence? I think maybe. Only time (and the changing of the leaves) will tell.

As always, thank you for your patronage.

*- Don’t percentages look much more impressive than hard, actual numbers?

Leave a Reply

