Timing Is Everything. Or Maybe It’s Nothing.

Posted: June 21, 2014 in Self-publishing
Tags: , , , ,

A WORLD GONE GRAY COMPLETED DESIGN200x300pxLIKE LIFE ITSELF COMPLETED DESIGN200x300pxSIGNAL FIRE COMPLETED DESIGN_thumbnailTransienceOriginal

I really don’t put much thought into the timing of my…well…anything. When it comes to book releases, however, I try to make them coincide with something resembling sense. I released my debut novel, A World Gone Gray,  in mid-November 2013, just ahead of the Christmas feeding frenzy. Since it initially fared well, I released Like Life Itself a week or so later.  I published Signal Fire in March, hoping it might end up on some discerning reader’s post-Winter TBR list. Most recently, I released The Transience of Youth last week. It’s a Summer-y Rom-Com type of thing, and I thought a mid-June release might suit it.

Turns out I’m one-for-four. A World Gone Gray continues to be my most consistent seller. It’s outsold the rest of the bunch about five-to-one. Combined. Which raises the question: Why? Is it the cover? The description? The content? What makes five times as many readers choose AWGG over the rest of my humble offerings?

Here’s the honest answer: I have no friggin’ idea. AWGG is the first book I ever completed. It has its moments, I think, but it ain’t no Faulkner. It’s my baby and I’m oh-so-close to it, but I fail to see why it beasts the rest of my books. The Transience of Youth (working title: Summer. Ha!) is my Number Two novel. Signal Fire came third, and my yet-to-be-released political comedy is number the fourth. Ideally, a writer improves as time marches on; more experience yields better work, and all that. But it seems I blew my load (so to speak) way back in November of 2013. Again, why?

Again, I have no bloody idea. I write stuff, I upload it to the Interwebs, and stuff happens. After that, your guess is as good as mine. If anyone can elaborate, I’ll gladly give you $1 (American), and a high-five.

And since I’m a glutton for punishment, I’m releasing my political comedy, I Like Mike, in September or so, just ahead of the US mid-term elections. I’m sure that’ll work out just fine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. TAWilliams says:

    I’ll admit I didn’t give my release date much thought. I’m planning on releasing in the next few weeks and that is simply because everything should be completed by then.

    I also find it interesting why certain books by the same author are more successful than others. I can’t give you anything but as long as their selling I’m sure you don’t mind 🙂

    • bpbroome says:

      Thanks, TA.

      Yeah, I’ve pretty much given up on finding any sort of pattern that explains why Book A sells more than Book B, and for what reason. Maybe five years from now I’ll have enough statistics saved up to give it a semi-educated guess. But probably not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

