Unexpected Awesome-ness

Posted: April 27, 2014 in Self-publishing
Tags: , , , ,

I’m in a bit of a funk lately when it comes to producing prose people might actually want to read. So in an attempt to get back to my roots (i.e., write something original) I’m scouring YouTube in search of inspiring, one-of-a-kind stuff that gets the creative juices flowing. Because scouring YouTube for blog material is so original. Anyhoo, here goes:

This is My Top Five List of original, inspirational songs. Keep in mind that this isn’t a Top Five List of Best or Most Popular or Most Lucrative Songs. It’s a short list of what I consider Real Music. It’s not necessarily the most theoretically sound, but it’s real and it’s from the heart. And I’m hoping some real and from-the-heart tunes will break the iceberg of writer’s block I’m currently chilling in. So here’s to keeping it real:

Number Five: The Vaselines. They look like your neighbors, yet they rock. “Son of a Gun/Molly’s Lips”

Number Four: Jessica Rae Mayfield and Seth Avett. Yeah, I wasn’t expecting this either: “Is This Love?” But it’s so real.

Number Three: Eminem. Yeah, I’m not a huge rap/hip-hop fan beyond “Doggystyle” and “The Chronic,” but I’ll listen to some DMX and Tupac. Here’s Eminem’s magnum opus: “Lose Yourself”. And how good was Brittany Murphy in 8 Mile?

Number Two: Ian Curtis and his merry band of geeks changed things in the early ’80s: “She’s Lost Control”.

Number One: Doesn’t get more real than Kurt and friends on MTV Unplugged back in the Dark Ages: “Where Did You Sleep Last Night?” His Elvis impersonation in the middle of the song sealed the Number One position. So did 4:00-4:57.

Honorable Mentions: The Melvins for “Honey Bucket,” Stevie Ray Vaughan for “Life by the Drop,” and Hum for “Stars.” Actually, here’s Hum. They’re that good: “Stars” live on Howard Stern.

Hopefully, this’ll help me punch my way out of the box I’m in.

Leave a Reply

