Hallo, Meine Deutschen Freunde!

Posted: March 7, 2014 in Self-publishing
Tags: , , , ,

Admittedly, my already tenuous grasp of the language is rusty, but I think that title translates to “Hello, my German friends!” Since my impassioned plea to the people of Australia in the second half of this post eventually yielded my first sale in the Land Down Under (and because I see Amazon.de has added the Look Inside feature to their site), I will now attempt to convey the worth of my works to the beautiful nation of Germany. So here goes:

I spent the better half of the early aughts stationed at the dearly-departed Kelley Barracks/Nathan Hale Depot in Darmstadt, conveniently located directly across the street from Wal-Markt (pronounced vall-marked), a Chinese restaurant, and a local vendor who sold whole roasted chickens out of his delivery van. Needless to say, the three years I spent there were among the most enjoyable of my life. I was immersed in a culture rich in architectural history, beer, friendly women, beer, and lastly, beer. I even picked up a bit of the language, including: ein dunkelweizen, bitte (a dark beer, please), and sechs stück McNugget mit süß und sauer (six-piece McNuggets with sweet and sour sauce—comes in very handy after drunkenly gesticulating to your Turkish cab driver to pull into the McDonald’s drive-thru at 4am). I learned a few other phrases, too. But my mother reads this blog. So…

In all seriousness, I loved my time in Germany. In fact Frankfurt (about 20 miles north of Darmstadt) is one of the settings in the first act of Signal Fire, and writing the handful of chapters in which Germany figures prominently brought back a lot of happy memories. While I was obsessively checking the various Amazon sites a few nights ago to monitor the status of my newly-uploaded second novel, I noticed that the German site now has a Blick ins Buch feature, which means, literally, “something something book.” To me, anyway. In reality, it probably means something along the lines of “Look Inside.”

So, Germany. There’s my spiel. Do with it what you will. But in the end, I think you’ll do the right thing and give my books a Blick ins Buch.

Danke!

Leave a Reply

