Aussie, Aussie, Aussie! Oi, Oi, Oi!

Posted: February 28, 2014 in Self-publishing
Tags: , , , ,

A thoroughly forgettable February will come to an end mere minutes from now. Thank God. For reasons I’ll get into more detail about in my next post (which is nipping at the heels of this one)…let’s just say I’m looking forward to March. However, one person in a far-off land (and six others residing on my home continent) made this month worth trudging through.

Way back in December, I acknowledged and celebrated my initial sales in the UK right on this here blog. Then about halfway through that celebratory post, I made an impassioned plea (complete with talking points) to the wonderful residents of Australia to please give my books a chance, even though they couldn’t view the free sample via their local Amazon site. Well, it seems that one soul in the Land Down Under has finally taken me up on that offer and purchased a copy of A World Gone Gray. Whoever you are, thanks!

Actually, the only way to properly thank Australia for taking a chance on my first novel is to set the climax of my soon-to-be released (March 4th—have I mentioned that?) second novel, Signal Fire, in the Australian Outback. It’ll take some editing, and I might even have to push the release date to a month or two from now, but I think I’ll be able to shoehorn some convoluted Aussie-centric nonsense into…

Wait a minute. It just so happens that a goodly portion of the final third of Signal Fire already takes place in Australia, so no convoluted shoehorning will be necessary. Three of the main characters fly from Washington, D.C. to Los Angeles to Honolulu to Brisbane to Darwin, then pile into a Range Rover and head south to a location which will remain undisclosed until March 4th. Also, is Australia actually depicted (in my mind, anyway) on the cover of Signal Fire? Maybe.

I’m not saying it’s fate, Australia. But yeah, it’s fate.

Leave a Reply

