Can Someone Help Me Google ‘Luddite’?

Posted: January 12, 2014 in Self-publishing
Tags: , , , ,

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, technology and I have a love-hate relationship. So naturally, self-publishing through Kindle Direct in ebook format was the obvious path for me to take to get my work into the marketplace (he said sarcastically). And since I’m doing it on a shoestring budget, I get to do all the formatting and the marketing and the other things a trade publisher would typically do all by my lonesome.

Marketing in 2014 (for free, anyway) almost exclusively entails diving headlong into the social media sea. Unfortunately, I’m as bad at socializing as I am at setting up a Table of Contents that actually works. Combine those problems with my utter ignorance as to how to get the most out of Twitter, Facebook, et al., and, well, I’ve already got two strikes against me, and I just fouled the third pitch off my foot. Things aren’t looking too good for the home team.

My technophobia even worms its way into my writing. If my main characters aren’t Luddites to begin with, it’s only because they’ve found themselves in a world where the electricity’s about to go out for good anyway. And one of the story ideas kicking around in my head involves a regular Joe who has to take down a tech-savvy group of terrorists. The working title? Luddites, of course.

However, there may be a bit of light at the end of the tech/social media tunnel for me, although that light is probably illuminated via a process I’ll never completely understand. A few weeks ago, I saw some tweets at the top of my Twitter feed with the #TheHandmaidsTale hashtag attached. Turns out The Handmaid’s Tale is one of my all-time favorite books, so I tweeted a short message saying so. And that was retweeted by Margaret Atwood herself! Okay, maybe it was an assistant of hers. But still. I’m pretty sure that’s going to go down as my greatest literary accomplishment ever.

Leave a Reply

